My Baby Valentine

I am just getting back into blogging again after a long break. My baby boy  finally arrived on Valentine’s Day and will be 5 months old this week. My husband will have a hard time topping this sweet Valentine’s Day gift. Miles was born after two very short hours of labor (if you don’t count the month of easy prelabor), weighing 9 lbs 2 oz (my biggest baby of the five) and having a head full of thick, downy, dark brown hair.

He was in such a hurry to get here that he came out without bursting his bag of water first and stuck his head through the looped umbilical cord. No worries though, our doctor is awesome and took care of it quickly. Since Miles came so fast, I didn’t get to experience the full benefits of having a doula but I am so glad that I had one. Christy, with A Balanced Birth, was very knowledgeable and supportive. I highly recommend a doula, whether you are having your first baby or your fifth.

Daddy got to meet Miles, by way of webcam, immediately after he was born. He was in the process of redeployment and was able to get home four days later. Miles took right to nursing without any difficulty and reached 16 lbs before he was 4 months old. Now, instead of hearing “Look at that hair!”, we hear “Look at those thighs!”

Leave a Reply

